What do you look like again?

After a full day recovering from the New Year’s shenanigans, I embarked on a holiday I had planned to Broome. Nothing too extravagant, a short stint at the backpackers in the middle of the wet season! If you have not experienced the wet season in Broome, it’s very warm and the air is more like a liquid than a gas because of the humidity (even when its not raining…. which it usually is). This particular week was not different – check it out!

IMG_5924

Over the weeks leading up to this Broome visit I had been chatting with a guy who lives between Perth and Broome. When we discovered we would both be in town the same week we agreed to catch up for a drink. So I got in touch when I arrived and we agreed to meet up the following day and watch the sunset by the beach….. soooo romantic.

Later that day I was chatting to one of my wonderful buddies who had celebrated New Year’s with me and he was still laughing at my “designated driver” scenario, and proceeded to send me a whole bunch of hilarious pictures and videos of me almost peeing my pants laughing on the carpark floor – very classy, I know. Feeling a little more human by now I could finally see the funny side! I hung out at the backpackers bar that night and gingerly watched the others booze it up while I sipped on a Diet Coke…. really was not back to 100% yet and I was still blaming that stomach bug that seriously messed up my friends parent’s bathroom…

So, the following afternoon I’m heading down to the beach when my prospective date messages me and says “I can’t remember what your pictures looked like. Can you send me a pic so I know who to look for at the cafe?”. No worries, not offended by this as we haven’t met yet…. I’m just gonna take a quick selfie aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand send. Oops. You know on the iPhone how when you try to send a picture you can select multiples by ticking before you send? I somehow managed to click ‘select’ on one of the fabulous photos I received the day before of me sprawled on a carpark floor….in fluoro clothing…  Let me just remind you of that one…. (of course he received a non blurry one – this has been blurred to protect my privacy)

IMG_5652

What a wonderful first impression! I quickly messaged him the right photo and proceeded to explain that I would indeed be wearing less garish clothing and probably will be standing up, so don’t look for me under the tables.

We all know how these stories end… after a few drinks we went to his place to watch a movie. As he only had a moped and one helmet, he charmingly paid for me to arrive in a taxi – with a pizza. He fell asleep about 30 mins into the movie, which admittedly was a bad choice on my part… something with a really lame murder plot. Lesson for kids playing at home…. not all Christian Slater movies are winners.

Leave a comment